Chat with us, powered by LiveChat

Here are some common questions and answers that come up prior to purchasing content studio. For frequent support questions please go to My C | S.

Yes.

If you move to a new PC which has the same version and edition of Content Studio installed, you can switch your licence to the new PC.

To do this:

1. Run Content Studio on the new PC.

2. At the registration page, input your details (which are currently registered to a different PC) and click Register.

3. At the prompt, click ‘Request Licence Key’ to email a code to your inbox.

4. Copy and paste the code, then click ‘Update licence to this PC’

5. If your details were correct, a success screen appears.

6. If Content Studio closes, double click it again to run the software again.

Yes, they create a Revit project (.rvt) file and can be imported into the work in progress area.

Yes, it’s easy to add keywords to single or multiple items.

You can then search your library for those keywords.

Yes, our Desktop Application and Autodesk Revit plugin supports all versions of Revit from 2014 – 2019.

Yes, you can setup 2 types of users:

Administrator’s can view, download, add, remove, edit & approve content.

Contributor’s can view, download and submit content for approval.

Yes, we support multiple library types:

LOCAL
The local work in progress library is a temporary holding place on your local machine where you can store data being worked on before submitting into a shared library.

Data stored here is not visible by others.

MODERATED
Moderated libraries are visible firm-wide and are designed as quality controlled environments. Any user (Contributor) is permitted to submit content into these libraries ensuring maximum exposure of firm-wide content.

Before other users can download this content, a moderator (Administrator) must first approve or reject the items from the library. Everyone gets full visibility of firm-wide content, but only approved content is available for download. This workflow reduces duplication of effort by users who might see content which exists but has not yet been approved and can then request that it in moderated. It also reduces the time spent by moderators ‘assessing’ content by focusing their efforts on content which is in demand

PROJECT
Administrators can setup project libraries. Contributors can add existing project libraries to their interface which have been created by Administrators.

Project libraries (or private libraries) are designed for team use at a project level. Only those invited to share a project library will see it visible in the tree view in Content Studio.

Any user (contributor) can submit content into these libraries. Upon submission, the content is automatically approved for use. It is accepted that content already in use on the project is ‘Live’ and does not require approval at a project level.

A layer of quality control does exist. All submitted content cannot be modified unless an Administrator first rejects and assigns it to another user.

Administrators can invite other users to share a Project library by right clicking over the newly created library name in the tree view and choosing ‘Share this library with others’.

REFERENCE
Only Administrators can create reference libraries.

Reference libraries (or read only libraries) are designed for storing read-only content by restricting permission to submit content (locked down).

Reference libraries are visible firm-wide but users can only ‘take’ not contribute from these libraries. These libraries are designed for data such as the Autodesk out of the box content, or collaborative ‘received’ content. Examples of collaborative received content are discussed below:

Where data is replicated from one server to another, it is not possible to have live editing of files due to the risk of two people editing the same file at the same time. A more robust way of sharing data in this manner is to use collaborative received information.

A simple example is discussed here using Dropbox as a simple data sharing solution..

Company A creates content in a project library called ‘Arch-Library’ which is stored in a shared folder in Dropbox.
Company A has shared this Dropbox folder with Company B who also need to use this data.
Company B need to ‘take’ from this library but do not intend to modify the content. In their Content Studio account, they add the folder stored in Dropbox as a ‘Reference’ library.
Company A can continually update content in their Project library and Company B will continually receive ‘pushed’ data meaning they are always using the latest information supplied.
Depending on the collaboration requirements, this process can also be reciprocal. Company B can create a ‘Project’ library and share their managed content with Company A in the same manner.

Load More

X